A few years ago when I was in therapy, my friend and I were trying to come up w/a worthy & accurate metaphor to aptly describe just HOW my schizophrenia/potential DID (dissociative identity disorder) is expressed.  We can up w/two analogies.  One was that my mind was kind of like a house & when I go out to do things the more dominant/proactive/extroverted personalities try to heard the more antagonistic/introverted personalities in the basement, the rest of the time they are free to roam the house and sometimes various people wander through the ‘living room’ (central control) and start fiddling w/the remote, this leads to mood swings, random conversational shifts and so forth.

The other analogy, which I felt was somewhat more apt, was that my mind was like a BIG bus and randomly the people on board would do Chinese fire drills w/out warning, changing the driver (again, representing central control or who’s running things…who’s at the wheel) at random, again leading to random episodic behavior-isms.

That leads us to Wednesday morning, when I was walking to the store, I noticed a free box (something we’ll talk about later) and I poked through it and noted a DVD player (probably broken), a few brown t-shirts w/out logos and a kids toy bus from fisher price…nothing really enticed me, so I continued on to the store.  On the way back to the flat, I passed the same box and I got about 5 steps past it when someone JUMPED UP and said ‘TURN AROUND & GRAB THAT BUS, WE HAVE AN IDEA’ and basically too the wheel and steered us back over to grab this little toy…we have BIG plans for this, it will lead to amusing stop motion animations w/miniature drawing figures (soon as I can get about $10 to go out and buy some from the art store up the street)…so there is an amusing anecdote for you and something to look forward to.  (my friend Wysskers refered to my ‘mind bus’ as Furthur, the bus belonging to the Merry Pranksters…its hotlinked, go there to read more)

Later on, a narrated photo tour of ‘My Cell’ …hope you tune in for that later.  Until then, Ciao!

Leave a comment